SMOKE-FREE ARIZONA ACT



FOR MORE INFORMATION

Arizona Department of Health Services
Office of Environmental Health
(602) 364-3122

Smoke-Free Arizona Information Line 1-877-AZSTOPS 1-877-297-8677

Smoke-Free Arizona Website www.smokefreearizona.org

E-mail smokefreearizona@azdhs.gov

RATIONALE

Protect patrons, employees and people who may be particularly vulnerable to the health risks associated with breathing secondhand tobacco smoke by prohibiting smoking in enclosed public places and places of employment.

SMOKE FREE PLACES INCLUDE

All enclosed areas in public places and places of employment, including restaurants and bars

PLACES WHERE SMOKING IS ALLOWED

- Private residences (except when used as a licensed child care, adult day care, or health care facility)
- Hotel and motel rooms designated as smoking rooms (no more than fifty percent of rooms rented to guests in a hotel or motel are so designated)
- Retail tobacco store (physically separated and independently ventilated so that smoke from retail tobacco stores does not infiltrate non-smoking areas)
- Veterans and fraternal clubs when they are not open to the general public
- Smoking when associated with religious ceremony practiced pursuant to the American Indian Religious Freedom Act of 1978
- Outdoor patios so long as tobacco smoke does not enter areas where smoking is prohibited through entrances, windows, ventilation systems, or by other means
- Theatrical performance upon a stage or in the course of a film production or television production if the smoking is part of the performance or production

BUSINESS OWNER'S RESPONSIBILITIES

- Post "No Smoking" signs that include the contact information for reporting violations
- Remove ashtrays and other smoking receptacles from non-smoking areas
- Inform employees about the new law (existing employees and future employees)
- Prohibit anyone from smoking inside place of business. This includes employees, vendors and customers

VIOLATIONS AND PENALTIES

- Complaints will be investigated by county health departments. If a violation is found, the business owner will receive a warning letter.
- Subsequent violations may be punishable up to \$500 for each violation. Each day
 a violation occurs constitutes a separate violation. If the superior court finds that
 violations are willful or there is evidence of a pattern of noncompliance, the court
 may impose a fine up to \$5,000 per violation.



DH00130b Prop201.indd 1 3/1/07 2:32:07 PM